Lent 13 – When I Say I Am A Christian

Posted: February 24, 2016 by leighannegreenwood in Lent

Today’s reflection comes from Emma F.

Pondering lent I was thinking how impressed I am by Jesus’ humility and how I need to get a better grasp of living out humility in my life. I found this poem –

When I say I am A Christian

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I’m not shouting ‘I am saved!’
I’m whispering ‘I get lost’ that’s why I chose this way.

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I don’t speak with human pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble – needing God to be my guide.

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak and pray for strength to carry on.

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting that I’ve failed and cannot ever pay the debt.

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I don’t think I know it all.
I submit to my confusion asking humbly to be taught.

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I’m not claiming to be perfect.
My flaws are all to visible, but God believes I’m worth it.

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I still feel the sting of pain.
I have my share of heartache which is why I seek his name.

 

When I say ‘I am a Christian’ I do not wish to judge.
I have no authority – I only know I’m loved.

 

 – Carol Wimmer.

 

Maybe take some time to express some gratitude to someone who models Jesus’ humility in your life.

 

but-god-life-loved-Favim.com-1381158.png

 

40thoughts: deny self

40acts: first fiddle is overrated

Leeds Prayer Diary: Suitcase and Spectacles

Leave a Reply

