The flow of love is constant

Posted: January 11, 2017 by leighannegreenwood in Uncategorized

On Sunday night, Simon offered us the Methodist Covenant Prayer, to read and to contemplate and perhaps even to pray.

I am no longer my own but yours.

Put me to what you will, rank me with whom you will;

put me to doing, put me to suffering;

let me be employed for you, or laid aside for you,

exalted for you, or brought low for you;

let me be full, let me be empty,

let me have all things, let me have nothing:

I freely and wholeheartedly yield all things

to your pleasure and disposal.

And now, glorious and blessèd God,

Father, Son and Holy Spirit,

you are mine and I am yours.

And the covenant now made on earth,

let it be ratified in heaven.

Amen.

It is a really powerful prayer of commitment and surrender, but it is only one of half of the vow.

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with mine eye. ~ Psalm 32:8

Call upon me in the day of trouble: I will deliver thee, and thou shalt glorify me. ~ Psalm 50:15

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. ~ Isaiah 41:10

I will pour water on the thirsty land, and streams on the dry ground; I will pour out my Spirit on your offspring, and my blessing on your descendants. ~ Isaiah 44:3

I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh. ~ Ezekiel 36:26

I will betroth you to me forever. I will betroth you to me in righteousness and in justice, in steadfast love and in mercy. I will betroth you to me in faithfulness. ~ Hosea 2:19-20

I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions. ~ Joel 2:28

This is the covenant that was made in heaven and ratified on earth through Christ, and this is the relationship we enter into when we say those words of promise.

Covenant is not convenient but it is constant. God keeps faith with us and that allows us to keep coming back to faith with him. His promise makes possible our prayer.

And so I commend these verses to you to dwell on this week, in the hope that they may encourage and strengthen you, as the prayer provokes and challenges you.

I also leave you with this, which has been running through my head and gave me the title for this post. (The picture is the link.) It is perhaps my favourite Revive song, so I won’t spoil it by trying to say anything about. Just enjoy.

constant.png

Leave a Reply

